Pleasant View and all of Tennessee will soon find some relief from those annoying drivers who use their phones while on the road.
Starting July 1st a new Tennessee law, approved 23-7 by the State Senate, will ban drivers from holding their phone while driving. If caught, they could face fines up to $200.
Drivers will no longer be able to hold your phone while driving, however hands-free devices are still allowed, including dashboard mounts, headsets and voice-based communication.
The first violation will result in a $50 fine and will increase to $200 if the violation results in a wreck.
First responders, law enforcement and utility workers are excluded from the bill as well as the need to make an emergency call.